GoHomeIBM - IT PartnerEmail to a FriendFull LeaderboardAdd Comment
Rules Cornerpresented by Rolex
Monday, June 16, 2008

< BACK TO RULES CORNER

Time At The Beach

by Wendy Uzelac, USGA

Tiger Gallery 8
Tiger Woods recovered from a greenside bunker at the eighth hole for a par during Sunday's final round. (John Mummert/USGA)

My co-workers at Golf House contacted me this morning to tell me the types of emails we have been receiving from the viewers of the U.S. Open. There seems to be some misunderstanding regarding touching the sand in a bunker.

One of the basic principles behind the Rules of Golf is to play your ball as it lies. Rule 13 specifically addresses this. The most common email question had to do with Tiger touching the sand in the bunker after he had hit his shot out of the bunker on the 18th hole in the final round. There is no penalty in accordance to Rule 13-4 Exception 2. Also take a look at the third exception. This is new to the Rules of Golf and allows a player to touch the ground in a hazard after a stroke without penalty even when your ball may be in another hazard.

We are a kinder, gentler USGA these days...



Back to Top

< BACK TO RULINGS CORNER

LATEST NEWS
    USGA Quick Links
    Sign-up Daily E-mail Alerts
    Free Mobile Leaderboard
    USGA.org
    USGA History

    Start of Footer

    Skip Footer